Wednesday, May 14, 2008 - Broward Health Imperial Point Medical Center Recognizes Most Valuable Physician

Media contact:
Margie Andrew (954) 776-8672

Fort Lauderdale, FL – Broward Health Imperial Point Medical Center recognized gastroenterologist Dr. Hari Singh as the medical center’s first Most Valuable Physician. Singh received this recognition during the annual medical staff meeting on April 22. To be awarded quarterly, Most Valuable Physician honors doctors for their exceptional performance when providing patient care.

Any individual, including nurses, hospital staff, and patients and their families, may nominate a physician. Recipients are acknowledged for exhibiting professionalism, respect and concern when interacting with staff, patients and their families, sharing their expertise and promoting collaboration among peers and staff, displaying composure in crisis situations, responding quickly to the needs of staff, patients and their families, and for upholding the trust and confidence of families and patients.

Among their many comments, hospital staff and patients recognized Singh for his courteous and compassionate manner, proficiency in his field, teamwork skills, professionalism and kindness toward patients and staff, and his attention to patients and families, addressing their questions and helping them understand treatment options.

“As a physician you always focus on delivering the best care possible to your patients,” Singh said. “So it is truly gratifying when you hear such positive feedback from not only your patients and their families but from your fellow colleagues as well.”

For being selected as the Most Valuable Physician, Singh received a personal plaque as well as a plaque that will be displayed in the medical center along with a banner, gift certificate to a local restaurant and a designated parking place.

“Recognizing physicians for going that extra mile is so important,” said Chief Executive Officer Calvin Glidewell. “We were pleased to announce Dr. Singh as the first recipient.”

Also during the annual medical staff meeting, officers were installed for the 2008-2010 medical staff year. Dr. William Jensen will serve as chief of staff, Dr. Linda Groene as vice chief of staff and Dr. Howard Lewkowitz as secretary/ treasurer. For the department of medicine, Dr. Carlos Bejar will serve as chief of medicine, Dr. Victor Toledano as vice chief of medicine and Dr. L. Fernando Narvaez as secretary. For the department of surgery, Dr. David Bimston will serve as chief of surgery, Dr. Richmond Estacio as vice chief of surgery and Dr. Abhijit Basu as secretary. For the department of psychiatry, Dr. Marta Covache will serve as chief of psychiatry and Dr. David Rooney as vice chief of psychiatry.

Broward Health, providing service for more than 50 years, is a nationally recognized system offering world class health care services to our neighbors in South Florida. One of the five largest public health systems in the nation, Broward Health includes Broward General Medical Center, North Broward Medical Center, Imperial Point Medical Center, Coral Springs Medical Center, Chris Evert Children’s Hospital, Broward Health Weston and more than 30 facilities of the Community Health Services and Broward Health Physician Group. For more information visit